#Ready? Clickable Hashtags are Coming to Your Facebook Newsfeed

According to this article, we will soon start to see even more hashtags on Facebook! Over the next few weeks, Facebook will be introducing the clickable hashtags that we all know from Twitter and Instagram onto their platform. Users will be able to click on the hashtags in a post and bring up a feed that has other posts with the same tagged phrase. Users will also be able to search for hashtagged phrases in the search bar to bring up relevant posts.

 While hashtags have been appearing on Facebook thanks to other platforms such as Instagram, Tumblr and Twitter, they currently serve no function. In the upcoming weeks, the hashtags will become clickable and will make relevant material easier to find.

Facebook will continue to respect privacy issues to ensure that if you create a post available to just your friends and include a hashtag, only your friends will be able to view that post when they click on the hashtagged phrase.

While I love to hashtag my pictures on Instagram and current event topics on Twitter, I’m not sure that adding hashtags to Facebook will serve the same purpose. What do you think? Do you think more users will start hashtagging on Facebook and do you think it will be as effective as it has been on some of the other platforms? Also, do you think Twitter is at any risk with their “signature” feature now being copied by Facebook?
 
Be on the lookout for the #clickable hashtags on your newsfeed in the next few weeks.
 

5 thoughts on “#Ready? Clickable Hashtags are Coming to Your Facebook Newsfeed

  1. While I do enjoy a hash tag here and there, I do find them becoming out of control on Instagram. I wish they would just disable cut and paste for Instagram, that way people would be deterred from hash tagging 50 different things that are all nearly the same. They are useful in some aspect, but I hope Facebook doesn’t turn into Instagram. #hashtag

  2. I don’t think hashtags on Facebook will be as successful as on Twitter. Someone’s circle of friends on Facebook seems to stay inside that circle, whereas Twitter allows you to explore all different topics & opinions.

    I prefer Twitter because the information I get from “strangers” on Twitter is usually more meaningful than what I get from my friends on Facebook (hopefully my facebook friends arent reading this…). Even if Facebook’s hashtags start to catch on, I believe I’ll still stick with Twitter because it limits the content/characters, and it doesn’t contain the stupid pictures/comments my friends post.

  3. I have to admit that I use #hashtags on twitter and instagram, but only because hashtags are #trending. I don’t know if I have ever actually clicked on other people’s hashtags or explored what they actually do. (As I’ve come to learn, they link you to similar content, and others who have posted about that particular hashtag). Due to all of our privacy reservations, I feel Facebook is not the platform for linked hashtags. It will just add more clutter, and will only further blur the boundaries of non-friends seeing our posts and FB activity.

  4. I definitely think that more users will start hashtagging on Facebook because there was somewhat of a pent up demand. Users were adding unclickable hashtags to their status updates and posted content well before these clickable links were introduced. However, it might take some time before they become as effective as they are on other platforms. I feel like users are still getting used to the idea that they can now click the hashtag to see relevant posts, but I don’t see why they wouldn’t work with hashtags as they do on Twitter or Instagram. At first I thought this might pose a threat to Twitter’s signature feature but then I remembered our conversation in class regarding the flock of many users from Facebook to Twitter. The hashtag is Twitter’s “baby” and is currently the “standard” platform for hashtagging (i.e., as seen in a TV commercial). The more Twitter increases in popularity the less they will have to worry about Facebook becoming the new hashtag “norm.

  5. I think it will add another welcome dimension to Facebook and turn it into a broader platform. Through the # function you can start conversations with people outside your friends and connect to those with similar interests. From a business perspective it will be great to link customers with companies of interest especially local businesses like restaurants etc.

Leave a comment