Twitter Will Offer Selected Tweets to Keep Users Coming Back

10twitter-1455044246881-master675

Link:http://www.nytimes.com/2016/02/11/technology/twitter-feed-information-overload.html?_r=0

An issue the information age brings us is the information overload, especially in social media. Lots of people on Twitter, Facebook or other social media are used to follow hundreds or even thousands of accounts. So as Jeff Seibert, Twitter’s senior director of product said, “When they come back to Twitter, there’s actually too much for them to catch up on. ”

Given the loss of lots of users, Twitter decides to start showing a selection of tweets to attract more users. This idea is to put important tweets up top so the user does not have to wade through less interesting information. Apparently, it is a way of personalized service and a trend of social media.

But actually it isn’t a special or new function since the similar function like selecting contents which you are interested in has been provided by many social media. As the result shows, the contents pushed eventually for users are not totally what users are interested in. So my questions are as follows:

  1. Can Twitter attract more users via the selection function?
  2. What is the future of personalized service in social media?
2 thoughts on “Twitter Will Offer Selected Tweets to Keep Users Coming Back

  1. I have actually seen this happen when I log into Twitter, and I am not a fan. I don’t use twitter that much, so when I do log in, I will sometimes have weeks of tweets to catch up on. I’ve seen the “while you were gone” thing and it never really makes sense. If you’re someone like me who isn’t on Twitter often, you’re usually coming back for a specific reason… So you don’t want to waste time going through all the clutter. I just want my feed to refresh to the most recent so I can search for whatever I came there to do in the first place.

  2. This function won’t really bring any new users. Perhaps it will help with user retention, but other than that, I don’t see how it helps much.
    I believe that in the future, mobile shopping and social media will merge to the point where targeted product offerings with “buy bottons” will be a part of every other action we take on any major platform. I guess you can say that’s as personalized as it gets.

Leave a Reply

