Medium

CaptureMedium is the newest venture by Evan Williams, the founder of “Blogger” (later bought by Google) and co-founder of Twitter. Hunter Walk, in his review of Medium, argues that Williams has inspired “blogging for the 9%”, with 1% creating content, 9% curating, commenting, and interacting with content and 90% imbibing content.

Unlike other posting sites, Medium uses an algorithm to ping “valuable” posts and features them on the top of their homepage. Though many of the contributors are unpaid, the site positions itself as an editorial experience. Each story is meant to act like an individual story, and is featured on its own screen.

Williams established the platform to encourage long-form blogging and to create a “community” where writers could collaborate digitally before posting their work. Hunter Walk argues that “for consumers, Medium is a magazine” that “occupies the space in between WordPress and Tumblr.” Question for the group: as Medium grows and looks to revenue sources do you think that a consumer would ever pay for “better” or “curated” journalism? Would a pay-wall work? If not, how might this social space monetize (vis-à-vis Tumblr, WordPress, etc)?

3 thoughts on “Medium

  1. I don’t think would like to pay for “better” or “curated” journalism. As there’re so many great articles or stories are free, why should they pay that? Or how can these journalism prove that they are better than other? I think Medium can work as a business-to-business platform for writers and publishers, where publishers could find great work and writers have a channel to show their work. Just like some publishers are using Tumblr to find writers.

  2. I would probably not pay for this service either. I already receive tons of articles on my feed on FB because of my likes and pages I visit, so directing traffic my way that I am already getting doesn’t seem to be valuable to me if I have to pay for it. Although I think it could open opportunities for writers to share their work and if they are good, gain a new set of followers.

  3. As a self-proclaimed Tumblr rat, I don’t see me needing another platform in place that is so similar to Tumblr, especially if it comes with financial cost. Blogger and Tumblr take on separate personas, and to find the in-between may just appear confusing.

Leave a Reply

