LinkedIn Opens Publishing Power to All Users

via Mashable

LinkedIn will now allow all users to “write and share longform posts,” a feature previously open to only the roughly 500 LinkedIn Influencers. In addition to appearing in users’ feeds, these posts will become part of the author’s profile.

Previously, users could post status updates where they shared links or attached files. The ability to publish long posts was reserved for Influencers such as “Morgan Stanley CEO James Gorman, Pfizer CEO Ian Read, financial expert and CNBC host Suze Orman, and Summly founder Nick D’Aloisio.”


 
Expanding publishing access to the entire Linkedin population will surely increase the amount of user generated content on the site, and the article expresses concern that truly valuable content will get lost in the sea of UCG.

LinkedIn disagrees – they anticipate that as more content is published, users will consume more content.

I think this is an interesting tool for LinkedIn to employ. The ability to write long form allows users to add their voices to their profile and further engage with their connections without directing them to an external source (blog, newsletter, etc.)

Personally, I’m not a heavy LinkedIn user and don’t anticipate using this feature. The only posts I could imagine reading are for potential hires if I want a sense of their writing style or for potential employers as interview prep. Otherwise, I’m more likely to follow someone on Twitter and/or subscribe to blogs.

What do you think? How do you engage with your LinkedIn newsfeed currently? Are you likely to read content posted in the future? Will you write posts on LinkedIn?

5 thoughts on “LinkedIn Opens Publishing Power to All Users

  1. I think this is a smart move for LinkedIn. I follow companies on Linkedin and if I could have a more organized “feed” with some of the updates about the companies, job posting, big news items, etc, I think I would find myself visiting the page more. I also use LinkedIn for prospecting for my job (sales), and if I could post what I was looking for and have people actually see and respond to it I think it would be a much more valuable tool in the professional social media space.

  2. I’m not sure if I’m going to use this new LinkedIn feature because I don’t know what to “write and share long form post” via LinkedIn. If I want to write something about myself or sell myself to potential employers, I will add more info on my resume and cover letter rather than writing a long post separately. If I want to get some job-related information or take a inside look at jobs, I will go to their official websites or job search websites such as Glassdoor. But I’m interested in seeing how many people will be actually using this feature and in what ways.

  3. At the present time, I use LinkedIn to network and see where friends are currently employed. I do not read the newsfeed or read articles that people post on LinkedIn. I feel as though this new feature will be underutilized as well. I am not one who wants to publish to the community more about myself than what is on my resume. If I would like to share information on a one-on-one basis with someone about my career aspirations, then I will message that person individually. However, I find this new feature to be a little invasive especially considering LinkedIn is a professional setting.

  4. I think it’s a good feature. Normal users can write longform posts, which gives normal user an opportunity to express themselves, and gives employer a chance to know more about their future employees. But I think users should post carefully, in a professional way.

    I use LinkedIn when I am looking for a job. I check the newsfeed to get information of my friends or job opportunities. I will read content posted in the future, as I think it could help me to get more information about what’s going on in an industry or field related to me. I will also write post, but only those could help me express my professional view or background.

  5. Great, another layer to keep updated on your LinkedIn profile! /sarcasm off

    I’m on LinkedIn all the time, but I rarely peruse their news feed. Personally, I don’t intend on starting anytime soon.

    All the same, it definitely strikes me as a good strategic move by LinkedIn; users will spend more time on the site, whether they’re generating content or consuming it. Some professionals may use the feature like a blog, weighing in on the news or issues of the day in their respective industries. Others, who may have only visited LinkedIn during job searches in the past, may find the platform more useful day-to-day for keeping up on industry chatter.

    In the same way YouTube became a platform for launching new artists, perhaps it’s also conceivable LinkedIn will do the same for anointing new authorities in different fields.

Leave a Reply

