Do You Care About PRISM ?

Right now there are a hundred articles just like this on the internet. What the most recent scandal suggests is that not only have the phone companies like Verizon been giving our information and phone records to the government but the top 9 internet companies have been doing it for the last 4 years. Microsoft was the first, followed by Yahoo in 2008; Google, Facebook and PalTalk in 2009; YouTube in 2010; Skype and AOL in 2011; and finally Apple, which joined the program in 2012. The program is continuing to expand, with other providers due to come online. The NSA and Federal Government say this is all part of their plan to search for terrorist activity. So far all of these companies have denied any involvement or knowledge of the program or giving the NSA direct access to their servers. The only company who seems to not be on the list currently is Twitter.

I would be very interested in knowing how well the PRISM program works. There were reports that the Boston bombing suspects were posting very suspicious things on their Twitter and Facebook in the weeks leading up to the attack. I wonder if the PRISM program is even able to detect these loan wolves and if not then what’s the point of the program in the first place? We are already aware of the blogs and websites that organized extremists use.

I personally have no problem with the program. If the government wants to see pictures of me and my friends and the nonsense conversations we have that’s fine. As a social media user I already know that everything I do is saved in a database somewhere and the employees of these programs can access my information whenever they want.

My questions for the class are:

Do you think the program will do anything to help protect us?

Do you care that the government is doing this?

2 thoughts on “Do You Care About PRISM ?

  1. I have been conflicted about PRISM. I feel as an adult I should be upset about it and the media has made it such a big deal. I would, of course, love to know I have privacy. but honestly…. I agree with you. I already knew big brother was watching and reading. The minute I signed up to join the social media conversation I knew my life wasn’t private anymore. AND we have been hearing about this stuff(ie Facebook having your info and having the right to do with it what they will) for years! Are the younger generations the only people who read the fine print every time we signed up for a new social channel?

  2. My thoughts on PRISM: the government does not care about my chatter between friends, or online gossip – they do however, care about my conversations if I am making racial slurs, threats, or triggering the terrorist keywords they have searches out for. I feel as though we all know, and have always known, that they monitor our online activities – so all of these articles about PRISM are just confirming what we had already suspected. Though this may be viewed as a violation of our privacy – I truly think we need to remember: if you are a law abiding citizen, then they do not care about your conversations or digital footprint. These measures are simply in the best interest of protecting US citizens and ensuring our safety – which in todays age, is much needed!

Leave a Reply

