May you tweet in peace

if I die video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=sdzCELofGgE

Have you ever been friends with someone on Facebook that unexpectedly passed away?  Their Facebook page becomes basically a memorial page for that person.   Friends and family will post stories and pictures of past times together as a way to cope with their loss.  Facebook memorializes the accounts of the deceased so they will not get deleted.  The personal Facebook page is a great way to remember that person and share stories with other friends in order to remember that person accordingly.  Twitter actually deactivates the accounts when they receive a death certificate.  The U.S. government even modified their guidelines for writing a will.  The new guidelines give instructions about picking a beneficiary to take care of your social media accounts when you pass away.

Would you like to still post on Facebook and Twitter when you are dead?  Are you really worried about interacting with your friends/followers once you are 6 feet under?  Well if you are, several companies have services that will help you do so.  DeadSoci.al will keep messages stored for later dates that you specify such as birthdays, or other special events.  They will then post those messages to your FB or Twitter account on those given days.  ‘If I die’ is another service that will basically do the same thing as DeadSoci.al but they take it a step further.  New users can record a video when signing up for the service.  The first person who dies, will have their video posted to Mashable and other international TV networks and websites, to give you your 15 minutes of fame, even though you can’t enjoy it.

_LivesOn is another service that interacts with Twitter.  What you have to do is create another Twitter account that mirrors your original account name, but put the _LivesOn at the end.  It will track your tweets and learn to predict what you would RT and favorite once you die.

I’m not sure I would want one of these services and I honestly don’t personally know anyone that would even think to sign up for this.  I think that the only people that would want this would be celebrities and other famous people.

Questions:

1)      Would you sign up for one of these services?

2)      Who do you think this is targeted to? Celebrities?

 

Source: http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2013/02/28/173183049/may-you-tweet-in-peace-social-media-beyond-the-grave

8 thoughts on “May you tweet in peace

  1. I would definitely not to sign up for the service because it is so crazy. I don’t think celebrities are going to use this service. If they want, they can always let professional agency to release their death video.
    I hope that it will be used by people who wish to have a ‘will’ on Facebook instead of the suicide folk using it to publicize their final message before killing themselves live on the web.

  2. I feel that once you die and go to a better place, your social media presence will be of very little concern to you. On the other hand, people who would potentially be really affected by this are your relatives and friends. And it should really be up to the designated beneficiary to decide how to go about this very sensitive matter.
    Sites like “LivesOn” could potentially make it more difficult for people to heal and deal with the loss of their loved ones by constantly reminding them of their life and subsequently death.

  3. I must say you shocked me with this article! Very interesting and morbid, if i may say! I would surely not sign up on any of these apps or sites, or services. It is insane that these services capitalize on how vital social media is for the individuals, to an extent that it would their main concern when they pass away!
    It was interesting to find out that the US law has modified its guidelines for writing a will and included instructions about picking a beneficiary to take care of the social media accounts. I guess it may have been an issue so far on what happens to that when someone does pass away, or is it allowed, or right to make the pages, or profiles of the deceased a memorial page. I personally have been in the position to come across pages of a couple of friends of mine that have passed away, and it gives me the chills, or makes me sad and nostalgic.

  4. I think this type of service is pretty ridiculous but with the fact that many people are self obsessed these days, I could see that people would sign up. People who feel that what they have to say would be missed upon their death would likely think that this type of service is necessary to keep up the illusion of their personal brand.

    I could also see this type of service being popular with pranksters. for example, if a person wanted to, they could set up comments to antagonize friends and family from the grave. If someone had a longtime joke going with a friend, they could continue that once they’re dead.

    It’s nothing that I would ever do, but I’m sure that there are people out there who would think this is a good idea. I’m sure that at least one of these companies will make money, at least for a while.

  5. Definitely, I would not sign up for these services. I’m not worried about my social media account when I’m 6 feet under. It’s nonsense. If my friends will remember me, they don’t need this kind of service. If they won’t, this kind of service is useless. When talking about celebrities, I believe that each of them has their own company or agency to do these things. Those who have these copyrights may use them to create memorial videos or release news and works.

    Zheng Xu

  6. To echo what several other students have said, this is one of the craziest articles I’ve seen so far. I agree that I am very unlikely to care what my Facebook account says once I’ve died. However, I agree that for friends and family, a Facebook page can serve as a source of solace and community to those who have lost someone. I know that an outpouring of love from unexpected places can be healing in and of itself. However on the other side, some would argue that posting on a person’s Facebook page once they have passed away is morbid and can be hurtful to their family and friends. Truthfully I don’t feel that there is a one-size-fits-all in this case – what may be helpful to some people when it comes to healing can be hurtful to others. Even though it does seem a little bit extreme, I sort of feel that because of that fact, adding a social media representative to your will could be a smart thing. As we’ve talked about again and again, it’s much more difficult than one would think to remove things from social media, and so perhaps it would be beneficial to have a set process in place.

  7. This is incredible creepy! Even if I want to leave some kind of recording after I die, I would probably do it for specific people and in a more personal way. It was very interesting the fact that the US Government modified laws to include a Social Media representatives; however, I believe companies like Facebook and Twitter should create some kind of restrictions for when people pass away, because you never know what people could post on your wall, etc that might hurt even more family and friends.

  8. The only reason I can think of to sign up for this would be to freak people out, but I wouldn’t even be alive to see their reactions. I’m not sure if it’s targeted to specific users (like celebrities), but I can definitely think of people I know who would use this. Personally, I think once you’re dead you should finally be able to give up Facebook.

Leave a Reply

