Facebook Finally Cracks Down On Auto-Sharing Spam With “10-Second Rule”

Facebook Auto-Share Crackdown

For Facebook users, experience is everything.  The social networking site provides a number of offerings that keep users engaged and their mission is to continue doing so despite the ever changing landscape and fickleness of consumer interest.  Currently, Facebook employs a number of ways to engage their users by offering interesting, organic content that often prompts a response.  Such responses can include comments, likes and shares.  Further, a variety of the content is exclusive and timely which prompts users to want to engage now — to be a part of it all.

User generated content is encouraged and highly effective, but sometimes, it can be counterintuitive.  Some content auto-sharing apps like Viddy or Socialcam, for instance, attempt to boost the virality of web-shared videos or amass user “hits”.  In theory, this is effective and ideally should promote the content being posted.  However, it may often come at a price; that price being uninterested users.  When a user watches a video via Socialcam, off of Facebook, the viewing activity of that said user is automatically shared on his/her newsfeed.  It shouldn’t be a surprise that sometimes users just want to watch a video privately without announcing to their newsfeed!

Having experienced this firsthand, I can attest that it is definitely a nuisance and I no longer view videos posted via Socialcam or Viddy.  As a result, Facebook is finally cracking down on auto-sharing spam with a 10-second rule, whereas content is not auto-shared onto a users newsfeed unless the user views it for a duration of 10 seconds or longer.

Class: Do you agree with Facebook’s crackdown on auto-sharing?  What does it mean for apps like Viddy and Socialcam?  Will they take a hit on user counts?  If so, what can they do to mitigate the risks of user count loss?

4 thoughts on “Facebook Finally Cracks Down On Auto-Sharing Spam With “10-Second Rule”

  1. This is very interesting. I’ve seen few of my “facebook friends” use these video apps; however, I would avoid watching the same video if it required me to install a new app or share my activities with “everyone” esle. I think “10 second” rule will encourage less people to share the info. On the other hand, if you actively use these apps and share your “views” it won’t make a huge difference to you as a user. I would assume it would be more phycological – even if you always share your information, you still want an option to opt-out. Lack of it might lead to less activity via vidoe apps and eventually facebook.

  2. I admit I love using Facebook. However, I’ve grown rather skeptical about Facebook’s privacy and auto-spam tendencies. In fact, I find myself to be an active Facebook viewer, but a rather inactive Facebook content contributor. I never know if the privacy settings have been reset, or a new feature has been added that will automatically show up on my mini-feed. I think that Facebook should most certainly crack down on their auto-spam, or users will go elsewhere. If Facebook continues to take liberties like uploading your recent video viewing activity, then there should be a disclaimer before you view the content. A while back I had heard via a friend’s mini-feed that Facebook uploaded your mobile phonebook straight to your profile for all to view. I didn’t believe it until I saw it…right there, was my entire list of numbers. Not only were my friends listed, but my co-workers, boss, and clients. I felt that Facebook had stepped over the line. Since then, I’ve become apprehensive about content sharing on this social network. I use with caution and may even stop using if Facebook altogether if it becomes more intrusive.

  3. I believe that it is a good idea for Facebook to put some type of criteria on all the information in which they share with out companies and agencies. It is sad to think that if you start watching a video and hate it after 2 seconds, you are not part of that company’s newsfeed. This would add to the tons of annoying messages and email that you might already receive.

  4. I am also becoming frustrated with the sharing that is done between applications and facebook. I feel like when I signing up for a product or service I have to read through so many lines and check/uncheck so many boxes so that the content is not splattered all across my wall and my friends newsfeed. I can say with confidence that no one cares what tv show I am watching or brand of razors I am purchasing. I choose to engage in these advertising or marketing gimmicks to score deals, not to broadcast it to my network. The sharing of information has become deceitful and complicated.

Leave a Reply

