Super Bowl watching takes on new dimension in age of social media

http://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/style/super-bowl-watching-takes-on-new-social-media-dimension-with-twitter-facebook/2012/01/31/gIQAuZ5wiQ_story_1.html

As we approach the Super Bowl this Sunday, will you be rooting for the Giants or the  Patriots?  Or perhaps you are more interested in the commercials or Madonna’s half-time performance?  No matter what you are planning to watch, there will be a flurry of media activity beyond the traditional televised programming.  With the rise of Social Media users on networks such as Facebook and Twitter, many people plan to watch the big game alongside their social network.

“About 45 percent of Americans who own tablets and smartphones …are watching television while watching something else at the same time, according to a forthcoming study by Nielsen.”  Many advertisers are recognizing this trend and are planning ways to engage viewers on their “second screens”.  GoDaddy.com is planning to include a QR code that viewers can scan with their Smartphone while watching.  Coca-Cola is planning to have a website featuring the Polar Bears from their Super Bowl commercial reacting to real time game activity and Twitter feeds.  It will be interesting to see what other social media interaction will be tied into the commercials as well as the actual broadcast.

What are your thoughts on the Twitter infused brand initiatives?  Do you think GoDaddy.com or Coca-Cola’s execution will garner the interaction needed to be “successful” ?  What real value could this execution bring to the brand?

So how will you watch the Super Bowl?  For the first time, I plan to check Twitter and Facebook during the game.  I am curious to see what millions of other football fans will be sharing during controversial calls or big plays.  What about you?

6 thoughts on “Super Bowl watching takes on new dimension in age of social media

  1. The GoDaddy and Coke ideas should should get a lot of hits. They’ll probably do a good job at building suspense about what to expect out of the extra online feature. Regarding the actual value the extra content will bring to the brand I’m unsure. If the further interaction is generally perceived well it create significant value, however if it’s not very engaging, cheesy or a waste of time, it could have a negative impact.

    I’m a big Giants fan so plan to be glued to the game action as much as possible. My extra interaction will likely be only with the people I’m with and the occasional text to friends and family.

  2. The Super Bowl is a very social event. Many people watch the game at a party with others. Therefore, one would expect the Big Game would not be the best place to use social media integration. However, looking at commercials from past Super Bowls, this is not the case. Viewers usually flock to sites that advertise during the game (such as Pets.com, or any other website that advertised during the 2000 game). Therefore, I’m sure the second screen efforts by these brands will be a success.

    As for the game itself, I am a Jets fan so this is will be particularly painful for me to watch. I will probably be on Twitter and Facebook a lot. Anything to take my attention away from the game itself.

  3. GoDaddy and Coke will be the trendsetters in this new marketing technique that will be useful for years to come for all big programming/events. Once this is deemed successful (which it will), I can see it being copied for Oscars, Tony’s, Grammy’s, MTV Music/Movie Awards, and sporting events, anything that draws a large audience. I also believe there is possibility from not only advertisers to benefit from using social media that way but for TV Channels or sports teams, they may be able to tap into this audience. For instance, Fox may put up a QR code on the screen of a NFL game during official review for you to get instant replay’s or additional commentary from their official/referee broadcaster. Thats just one example. Additionally, there is the social network GetGlue out there which allows you to “check-in” to what TV program you are watching, how this social media experiment works out with the Super Bowl could end up working for GetGlue and be a good way for them to monetize their app/network, and possibly even without a QR.

    As for the game, I’ll be on Twitter. Not sure I’ll be checking in on these advertising/added perspectives live but I’m sure there’ll be enough coverage/analysis for me to take it all in after and I will. Let’s go Raiders, oh wait.

  4. I think GoDaddy and Coke will gain success to some extent but not sure whether they will make a huge hit by launching their new strategy. Apparently it goes with the saying that if you can’t beat them, join them. Especially when it’s the change about demographic and social factors, businesses are better off by taking advantage of people’s new viewing habit. However, people seem more willing to tweet when watching these social event at home alone than at a party with someone else.

    I’ve been on twitter and facebook last night and not surprisingly a lot of my friends post on facebook about the game. Surprisingly, many celebrities tweeted about the game.

    Btw, it was an exciting and breath-taking game last night! 🙂

  5. Yesterday Super Bowl was actually really exciting for many Giants fans. And this was also a big fun for consumers who looked forward to seeing many funny and unique commercials. As to Coke and GoDaddy, I actually watched those commercials and those intrigued me to some extent. But I didn’t check those sites during the game because yesterday Super Bowl was a kind of the game that we couldn’t miss even for a second. I am very curious about how many hits they could get and whether their strategy was successful or not.

    • So I watched the game and tuned into Twitter during the Super Bowl, but I have to say I didn’t see much value in the Social Media experience. Like many of those who have commented, I am a big football fan and an even bigger Giants fan, so I was much more interested in the action on my Television. After the big win, I was happy to share my excitement on Facebook and over Twitter, but I found the only time I had an interest in checking Twitter and Facebook during the course of the game was during the commercials. Other than being too interested in the action of the game than to tweet, it seemed like there was not much Football related tweets that were of interest. There seemed to be more Tweets about the Half Time Show, the advertisements and from the brands than in regards to the action of the game. From that experience, I would have to imagine that the Brands were the winners on the social media front, as far as getting their brands involved in the content of the tweets. Maybe its the nature of live sports events, especially when they are so close. Maybe I’m still learning how to filter through the vast amount of content while on Twitter. Either way, I found it interesting to see so many people reacting and commenting on the commercials, and the brands finding ways to engage audiences on their second screens. But I will be interested to see how Social Media develops over the 2012 sporting events, during March Maddness, NBA and NFL playoffs and the Summer Olympics. I wonder if Twitter will continue be more of a brand tool, of if sports media will find a way to bring more meaningful content to social media.

Leave a Reply

