Making the most of your Facebook posts

http://mashable.com/2011/10/26/time-facebook-posts/

I particularly enjoyed this article as it addresses a problem all too many businesses have regarding reaching out to their fans on Facebook. How often should you post something on your Facebook page? I mean you are inclined to post all the time as you want your fans to know what is going on at your company. But if you post too much you will end up just annoying your fans causing them to unlike your page. So how frequently should you post and what is the best time to do so in order to get the most interaction with your fans with out annoying them too much?

Jeff Widman co-founder of PageLever says in short “Post whenever the most recent status update for your page stops showing up in your fans’ News Feeds”. He then goes on to point out some metrics that will allow you to monitor how long your posts lasts. Some suggestions include measuring the impressions per post, comments per post and likes per post. Jeff points out that it is very difficult to come up with an average time that each post will last as each fan page is different and each post is different. That said, when tracking 20 posts across five fan pages that had 2 million+ fans he found that the average post lifetime is about 23 hours. This means that on average you should post once a day.

I personally would recommend post even less frequently as I really dislike the companies the spam my wall everyday and often just unlike them when they do so. I would be much more happy seeing something once every two or three days as this way you still get a good feel for whats going on with the pages you are following yet don’t feel bombarded with the company’s every move. What do you guys think?

2 thoughts on “Making the most of your Facebook posts

  1. This is a very interesting issue to look at, especially companies who are just starting to utilize social media by being active on their facebook and twitter pages. I think this article makes some good points. It really comes down to what it is your posting and the reason you have for posting it. Depending on the situation, I think it may be necessary to do 1 or 2 facebook updates per day, but there are other instances where maybe just send one post and then maybe a follow up a few days later. The best way to monitor it is to look at your consumers. They will in many ways tell you what you need to post by there comments and usage of the page.

  2. I think this is a very important thing to consider when building your company’s brand on social media sites such as facebook. Personally, I tend to only “like” a company on Facebook if it is required to enter some type of competition, and if the company was to bombard me with posts on my news feed I would quickly unlike the page as soon as the competition was over. This blog post made me go onto my account and look at the bussiness pages I have liked and all tend to post at least once a day, but no more than 2 or 3 times a day. When the company did post multiple times a day, each post contained very different information. I think the message content is very important in considering hwo often to post. If a company was to repetitively post the same info 2 or 3 times day, people would get quickly annoyed. But if each post contained relevant yet different content, I don’t think people would be as quick to want to unlike the page. Overall though, i don’t think a company should post more than 3 times day but should certainly post at least once a day. Some of the companies I have liked I realized only post a few times a month and I think they are losing out on getting their brand and message out there. I had forgotten I even “liked” them until I was actively looking because they never appear on my newsfeed.

Leave a Reply

