What Google+ Is Really About (Pst – It’s Not Social)

https://plus.google.com/photos/100238778462210489846/albums/5629087019815403777

I just wanted to quickly pass along this really cool Google+ presentation, which is appropriately displayed in a Google+ slideshow format (it’s basically a photo gallery). The author sees Google+ as a different animal altogether, and he uses an analogy I really like: markets as red and blue oceans. Red ocean markets are “known quantities” with many competitors fighting for a piece of the pie, while blue ocean markets represent “unknown spaces” with few competitors and the opportunity to actually create market share.

The author says that Facebook and Twitter should relax a little, because Google+ isn’t as much of a threat to them as they might think. I disagree. In my mind, people only have so many hours in a day to communicate online. If users migrate to Google+ en masse, by extension they will be spending less time on those other platforms — even if they are using Google+ in different ways. In this sense, Google+ is a threat to Facebook and Twitter, because it will compete for users’ attention.

Thoughts? Mostly I just thought this was a cool presentation with some out-of-the-box thinking behind it.

3 thoughts on “What Google+ Is Really About (Pst – It’s Not Social)

  1. I thought that this was a really interesting piece, especially considering our conversation last class regarding Google+. I liked how the information was presented in a “slideshow” format. This format may also signal a shift in how many users like to consume information with pictures and graphs versus just paragraphs of details and data. In terms of Google+ it was interesting to see the functionality directly compared against the current industry giants such as Twitter and Facebook. I have still seen a lot of my friends question the purpose of Google+ and say, “I’m on, what now?” I’m interested to see what the next few weeks have in store for growth and further adoption of Google+

  2. G+ has a long way to go before it becomes a threat to Twitter and Facebook. Attracting 750 million new users is not an easy task. It will take a long time and a lot work before G+ becomes the king of social media. The one great thing about G+, is that it is extremely conveinent. The slide show was funny when it mentioned that people forget about the toolbar (gmail, documents, search engine). I even forget how brilliant Google is.

    Secretly…. I hope G+ supersedes Facebook.

  3. I believe that G+ has yet to come a long way to match Facebook! Although its been introduced only in certain test markets, it has generated a lot of curiosity in the minds of Facebook users. But I know that there are hundreds and thousands of people who have already jumped on the G+ bandwagon! For instance, I have received at least 5 join in requests from my friends in India but not many of them are fully aware of its capacity. For now, I would like to be one of those who would wait and watch its progression graph.

Leave a Reply

