BING Expands Social Search

http://www.warc.com/LatestNews/News/Previous.news?ID=28292

Google maintains the lion share of the online search market: 65% versus Bing’s 14%. Thus far, Google’s strength has been its algorithm: providing consumers with the most accurate search results consumers can find on the web. Then the competition started to realize that consumers wanted even more relevant results. Microsoft’s Bing attempted to do that at launch, but hasn’t really been successful.

Microsoft built an intelligent enough algorithm to compete with Google, but it lacked the loyalty and the power of the network. It just didn’t give users enough reason to make the switch to Bing. Then came Social Search.

Bing made a big splash last week when it launched its new “social search” capability. Google has failed in the social media environment thus far. Bing on the other hand, decided that it would leverage the social layer, rather than compete with it. Now, when you search for something, you’re social graph is incorporated into the search results. It allows users to search for things they’re interested in and then use the recommendations offered by friends.

Below is a one of their new spots:

2 thoughts on “BING Expands Social Search

  1. This is a smart move for Facebook and Microsoft. It’s going to take a lot to take some of the search engine market share away from Google and this is a good start. I won’t be moving away from Google searches anytime soon and I don’t think the advice of my friends matters in many of my searches. I can see this being powerful for people that are stongly connected to social media.
    I can also see this backfiring because I don’t want to be locked into a bubble on my searches. I don’t always want what my friends think to lock me into what I’m searching for. It could become very annoying if it makes me scroll through results that are tailored toward my friends before getting to what I actually want.
    It was a move that Facebook and Microsoft needed to make because both are competing fiercely with Google, but I don’t think it will have a significant impact on driving people away from searching through Google.

    • On the surface this does not seem like a successful campaign. From the social media angle I dont forsee social media users engaging in this sort of connectivity. I dont forsee myself moving away from Google searches but perhaps if Bing were to tailor its social searches by linking the most common interests (as opposed to all interests) then perhaps more users would be engaged to search further. For example, my friends and I share similar interests when it comes to college football and all related news pertaining to the sport. Bing’s social search could perhaps allow us to search for common news threads based on the current events we are discussing. This way we dont have to be subjected to all categories under the college football unbrella. In short, Bing’s social searches need to be very defined. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

